Back in Burlington

It’s been a while since I posted anything, and a lot has happened, but the biggest thing is like my wonderful time in Peru came to and end, and after a very tearful and prolonged adios, I flew back to the USA and made it back to my beloved island for the first time in too long. After 8 months abroad it was great to see my friends, my family, my cats, and my home, but it was short lived, and soon enough it was time to start school. Dad and I drove up to Burlington where I’ve started classes, and have been having a great time.

I haven’t been here in 2 years, and although much has changed, sometimes I feel as though I never left. One of my greatest blessings are my friendships, and it has been wonderful to come back and feel welcome into the lives of my friends as if no time has passed.

Classes are tough, but no one ever said learning was easy. It’s finally getting cooler, and fall is right around the corner. One of my favorite things in the world is a New England autumn, and Burlington is a gorgeous place to experience it. I’m planning a trip back home soon to spend some quality time with the family, take plenty of nature walks, and enjoy the changing of the seasons.

I’m missing Isaac terribly, so I’m lucky to have so many distractions to keep my busy. I will be seeing him at the end of this year, which isn’t too far away, so knowing that helps me get through the lonely days.

Even though I miss Lima, I am so happy to finally have a place I know I’ll stay for a while and an opportunity to let myself nest. I’ve often claimed to be a free spirit, but at the core, I’m a nester, and love having a place to settle down and call home. After all this time hoping around from different schools, homes, and countries, I can say that Burlington is where my life is for now, and regardless of my next moves, I’m very content to light a candle, play some music, and veg out in my little apartment knowing I don’t need to pack up anytime soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

