volunteer work dia 1 y 2

Dia 1: Yesterday, monday morning, I woke up early ready for my first day of volunteering. The rest of the group went off, while two new volunteers and I had orientation with Lidia. She just filled us in on everything, and I found out that the organization here in Lima is called Tarpuy Sonquo, which is Quechua, the language of the ancient Inca empire of Peru. It essentially means “spreading love.”

So around 10, I left the house with a local volunteer, and the two of us walked about 15 or 20 minutes to San Antonio, an orphanage. I spent the morning with a handful of young ninos, some of whom had special needs, both a few didn’t. They aged around 3 to 5 years old. We played in the sun for a while, then we helped with lunch, then headed back to the house for our own lunch.

On Mondays, Tuesdays, and Wednesdays, we get the afternoons off, so there is plenty of opportunity for exploring the city!

Dia 2: Today I left at a normal time with everyone, and we went to Pachacutec, a very poor town where we teach english. It’s about an hour bus ride away. Since it’s summer vacation here, we teach english in a summer school hosted in a church. There are a few age groups, and the volunteers split off to work with different ages, and I worked with one other volunteer with the oldest age group. The kids aged from around 12 to 14 (I think…). We just worked on some vocabulary and I corrected their homework from the previous lesson, but I stayed pretty quiet, watching and getting a sense of the environment. I choose to work with this group because the other volunteer who does it leaves in a month, and then I can kind of take over the class.

After the lesson, and a quick cookie break, it was time to do some painting! I got to take lots of pictures here, they’ll come soon, but everywhere else we aren’t allowed to take photos. After a few hours, I was covered in blue paint, and we finished two classrooms. We headed back home for lunch, and then the female volunteers set off for the afternoon to La Punta. In La Punta there is a home for girls that have a history of abuse, prostitution, and other traumatic things. The girls there are all so young (the youngest being 11 and the oldest 17) and kind and loving. I can’t imagine them having to go through so much at such young ages, so I’m so happy to spend time with them and give them love and care. We spend a while teaching english, but the girls are all very chatty and it’s pretty hard to give a lesson without constant interruptions, but we still had fun. Then we have free time, and this afternoon I brought in a dance dvd that showed us choreography for some songs.

Tonight I’m going into Plaza de San Miguel, then calling it a night.

I’m so happy to be here, I say it out loud at least 20 times a day, haha. I’ve traveled all over the world (I only have 2 continents left until I’ve been to all 7) and I have never loved a place more than this. I already thinking about extending my stay, I never want to leave.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

